Fall Pick Ups

One of the things my husband and I love to do on weekends is shop for games. We’re both really into collecting, albeit for different systems, so whenever we get an opportunity to go hunting we definitely take it. The mission this weekend was to get a Jungle Green Nintendo 64. I can happily say, mission accomplished 🙂 I also picked up some major wants I’ve had for quite some time. It was definitely a successful weekend for collecting. Keep reading for the details!
I mentioned that my husband and I collect for different systems. His main focus is Nintendo 64 and GameCube while mine is Sega Dreamcast. I’ll start with the Sega goodies, since there are less of them.

Mickey’s Castle of Illusion (Sega Genesis, 1990, cart only)

I have been looking for a Castle of Illusion for about a year now. After we got our Retron 5, my cousin kept talking about a Mickey Mouse game we used to play and I had completely forgotten about it. Once she mentioned it, I sought it out. I could have gotten it on eBay, but it was one of those things where I never made the effort to find a good deal online. When I saw it at our favorite Mom and Pop this weekend, I had to pick it up. I can’t wait to play it! Believe it or not, Disney used to make some really great games. 

Resident Evil: Code Veronica (Sega Dreamcast, 2000, CIB)

I believe RE:CV was the second or third Resident Evil game I played. It was definitey the first I played alone, but to be honest I never finished it. I rented it s couple of times from the local Blockbuster, but I’m very happy to have it in my collection now. 

Illbleed (Sega Dreamcast, 2001, CIB)

I have wanted this game for a very long time. I have watched several videos on it, but never found it out in the wild. The premise intrigued me so much and it is such a weird, unique game that I knew I had to have it. I’m also a huge fan of horror and being that this is a Dreamcast exclusive horror survival game I had to have it, although it was definitely a bit pricey. I have already started playing this game and it’s the perfect mix of cheesy and interesting to hit the nostalgia sweet spot for me. I would definitely recommend at least watching some gameplay of Illbleed if you’ve never seen or heard of it, especially if you’re a big Dreamcast fan. 

Red Virtual Memory Unit (Sega Dreamcast, 1999)

When I had my original Dreamcast (which unfortunately broke when I was a kid) I also had a red VMU and I have been looking for one for longer than I expected to, but I finally found one and am very happy to have it. So many memories came flooding back to me when I saw it. 

Now, on to Nintendo!

Mario Party 2 (Nintendo 64, 1999, CIB)

This is a game my husband has been wanting for a while. So much so, that he shelled out the extra cash for the CIB version, when they did have a cart only available. The Mario Party games are a staple in any good Nintendo collection. 
The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time (Nintendo 64, 2000, CIB)

Ocarina of Time is a Nintendo 64 classic. It was one of the most loved games on the system for one of Nintendo’s most popular franchises. OoT needs no introduction or elaboration. My husband was missing this game in his life and we are both so glad to have it again. 
Nintendo 64 Controller (Grape Purple, 2000)

Nintendo 64 Console (Jungle Green, 1999)

Leave a Reply

